Default The BEST set up for me.... need help.

Hey guys, I'm a RD newbie, I know nothing about different frequencies and such, but I'm not new to forums so I read the stickies on the different types of frequencies and now have an idea of where they all come from. Questions still remain though....

I have a cobra XRS 9990, yes I know when you a majority of you see the name "Cobra" you're going to leave this thread and not waste your time... but, these new detectors that Cobra has out have had fairly positive reviews, I can't really say because I've only had it for 3 days, but I did my research before buying. And I got it from Radioshack for $60, when it was originally $220, so I think I got a GREAT detector for MONEY. I never said a great detector

I will probably get the GPS Aura locater thing later that warns of red light cameras and speed traps etc. but before I do that, I need to get familiar with a radar detector and all its different functions.

Here are my questions:

-I live in a suburb outside of Detroit, I do mainly drive in this suburb only, so you have your normal supermarkets, stores, gas stations, etc. My first question is, what types of frequencies can I expect in the city? Both real LEO radar and false alerts? Can I expect both a false alert and a LEO detection from the same frequency?

-Second, what mode should I put my detector in? I know to put it in city mode, but there are different city modes in my cobra: City X, City X + K, and City X beep off, today I had it X + K mode and noticed a Ka band at 35.5 and the intensity even reached 5, but there were no cops, so I'm guessing it's a false alarm.

Here's what the manual says about each mode:

X
    sounds a single beep when an x band signal is first detected. The alert then sounds when signal strength reaches level 3.

X+K
    combines the City X mode with prevention of K band audio alerts until the signal strength reaches level 2.

City X beep off