Thread: Maryland?

Newcomer

Default Maryland?

Anyone have any information on what the LEO's use in Maryland the most? I'm thinking about buying a Bel V955 or Whistler XTR690 (I am on a budget here as i am a college student and will be doing an hour commute every day).

I heard the Whistler's are better for Ka band, but 955 are better for all around performance so i was wondering what the norm is in the Maryland area. I live 20 minutes away from PA line, but school is 10 minutes outside Baltimore.

I'm still not completely sold on this detector business to be honest...I already have gotten 5 points on my license from one ticket so if I get another ticket I'm probably doomed. I really just want a RD so I can drive comfortably (5-10 over) and not really have to worry about it. If anyone could give me tips on using a radar detector like the whole rabbit system and etc. please feel free to send me a tell and it will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Old Timer

http://www.radardetector.net/forums/...tml#post421940

PA state police use K band...locals can only use ENRADD and vascar...maryland looks like a of laser so u might want to save up for a jammer as well

Professional

Last ticket I got was in Maryland. It was about 5 or 6 years ago and I was on Rt 15 South around Thurmont. I can't remember if it was a MD state trooper or a Frederick County Sherrif's Deputy that got me. Anyway, I didn't have a detector at the time so I don't know what he was using.

On a separate note, I hate Maryland.
    I never appreciated New Jersey until I went to school down there. (No offense of course).