Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Radar Fanatic

Default Hand Held Scanner

I'm in the market for a portable hand held scanner, I'm a big time noob so be patient with the questions I will ask.

I would like a portable scanner I can move from car to car including the antenna, just like my portable CB I can move from car to car in minutes.

I will be traveling thru Texas, Colorado and Wyoming, but not limited I will soon go visit other states as well.

I will make an example of comparison for instance, I would rather purchase a V1 or an ix than a Cobra or a Whistler not to bash an RD's, but the protection is limited so when it comes to a scanner if one is better than the other, then I would want that is better.

For example I have a cheap Uniden 520xl CB, but I have a good antenna and it works great, I have many saves, so that is what I'm looking for in a scanner, I know I can spend more on another radio and getter better performance, but what I got works well for me.

I know I can spend a lot on high end scanner's, but money is tight so as long as it is portable and moveable from car to car and don't have to worry about buying another scanner, because another better one came out or something like that, then it would save me a big headache and money.

I just need a scanner that will give me saves on top of my CB and RD, I know I've seen some video's here on scanner's that just beep when a LEO is around and alerts in advanced, so if the LEO has I/O the scanner will pick up before the RD.

I know I've read about digital and analog, but I don't know much about that, but like I said before as long as it works and gives me saves that is what I want.

Thanks For Reading.

Power User

Default Re: Hand Held Scanner

RadioReference.com - Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference Database

I think you are going to need a digital scanner, so go with the BCD396XT.

Yoda of Radar

Quote Originally Posted by protias View Post