Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Newcomer

Default Re: Leave the detector in the car?

Mind as well leave four $100 bills on the dash.

Mine goes in the glovebox, locked, although I'm not sure how strong a glovebox lock is.

Lead Foot

Why is everyone commenting about theft? The question wasn't about security, it was about heat damage, LOL. I know it can get stolen, but I'm not asking about that.

Experienced

OKAY, back on track. I am not an expert, but every piece of information I have seen suggests that prolonged exposure to heat can and will have an effect on the long term performance. VR lists the temp rating up to 158 F. Heat in AZ can reach 180 inside a car in the summer. Leaving it exposed to the sun can make it even worse. I would not leave it in a car in any sunny environment. Take it out if you are going to be away from the car long enough to let heat build up. Certainly don't leave it exposed to the sun.
    Last edited by ATSRADAR; 08-27-2008 at 07:50 PM.

Mine is hardwired in, mounted high behind the tint band, although the laser portion of the V1 is just below the tint band. This keeps it out of direct sunlight, therefore cooler and the best view of the road for radar and laser.

While parked at work or a shopping center I’ll put the V1 in its case and lock it in the glove box. I’ve noticed it stays reasonably cool in there, even with very hot temperatures in the cabin of the car. Heat is not good for most electronics so even in a stored state I feel it would be better not to stress it. So the glove box seems to do the trick.

Another cool place and which adds a touch of security is putting my V1 in its case and storing it in my gun safe in the trunk of my car. The trunk like the glove box seems to stay a whole lot cooler than the interior of the car. The safe by the way is bolted to the rear floor pan, hence the added security factor.

BC

Good Citizen